Tags

, ,

What I needed today……….some perspective.

Make your home as comfortable and attractive as possible and then get on with living. There’s more to life than decorating.” ~Albert Hadley

I tend to be a perfectionist. Not that I think I’m perfect rather I think it is the fear of not being good enough, of it not being perfect. The room not being good enough, dinner not being good enough, my home, my clothes and on and on. So, I fuss and fret and over compensate until I think it’s perfect. Sometimes my husband laughs at me for this and sometimes it is NOT funny.

That is why this quote hit home for me. As I get older I do recognize that fear does not come from a good place and I am trying to be more content with the way I  look, what I have and the way I do things. I am learning to do something and move on. Let it go.

My grandmother always said there are much more important things in life than a clean home. Not that hers was ever messy. But I am getting it now. Life is short.

 I do think this quote is somewhere in the middle of all of this. Giving permission to those of us who do like to decorate and design to do it – but remember what is important.

Happy New Week!

