Tags

I woke up Sunday to a cool, misty morning thinking about the upcoming week sitting on the couch with my cup of coffee and the dogs flanking me. For no reason at all feeling a little blue and tired. Oh, how quickly I forget to be thankful for what I have…….. today!

Just last Sunday and Monday I got to wake up looking out over the Lake of the Ozarks. We were celebrating our anniversary, feeling blessed and very happy. It has only been a few days, why should I be feeling even the slightest bit blue?

So, I turned to one of my all time favorite books One Thousand Gifts by Anne Voskamp to get a little inspiration and motivation. The inside jacket describes it as a practical guide to living a life of joy, waking you up to God’s everyday blessings. As Voskamp discovered, in giving thanks for the life she already had, she found the life she’d always wanted.

She started writing down every day blessings. Little things not just the big things. New toothbrushes, first frost’s crunch, scooping out squash, nylons without runs (I don’t wear those very often), and on and on.  She wrote to one thousand gifts given to her by God and then kept going. Giving thanks changed her perspective and her life.

That is why I picked up the book again. I needed to change my perspective on the day.  How about I start by giving thanks for hot coffee, heck…..I’m thankful FOR COFFEE….period!

I am going to (re) read this book and think about starting my list. I need to try to remember to be thankful for all the gifts given to me whether big or small, away on a trip or sitting at home on a cloudy, wet and cold day.Product Details

Available through www.amazon.com or www.aholyexperience.com.

